Saturday, June 3, 2023

Ivory Coast to host CAF Women’s Champions League 2023

The CAF Executive Committee has announced Côte d’Ivoire as the next host country of the CAF Women’s Champions League 2023.


The staging of the CAF Women’s Champions League 2023 will enable Côte d’Ivoire to test the facilities that will be used for next year’s TotalEnergies Africa Cup of Nations Côte d’Ivoire 2023.

The dates will be confirmed in due course.

Zambian Champions Green Buffaloes took part at the 2022 edition in Morocco following their triumph in South Africa as Cosafa Champions.

The Zambian Army made a strong start to the tournament, with a 4-0 thrashing of Determine Girls, before squandering a one-goal lead to lose 2-1 to host and eventual winners AS FAR .

Coach Charles Halubono’s side suffered a 2-0 defeat to Simba Queens in the final group game.

Green Buffaloes received $150,000 for finishing third in the group.

For Buffaloes to qualify, the need to win this year’s Cosafa Womens Cup.

South African giants Mamelodi Sundowns [2021] and AS FAR [2022] won the first and second edition respectively.


Related Articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img