Sunday, June 4, 2023

CAF confirm new format for FIFA World Cup qualifiers

CAF has confirmed the new format for the FIFA World Cup qualifiers after the executive committee meeting this week:


The 54 member associations of CAF will be divided into nine groups of six teams each.

Qualifiers will kick off in November this year.

On the FIFA World Cup 2026 Qualifiers, the Executive Committee approved the format, dates of the Qualifiers. The new format has been adapted in line with FIFA’s expanded FIFA World Cup format and will involve all the 54 Member Associations of CAF who will be divided into nine (9) Groups.

Winners of each Group will automatically qualify for the FIFA World Cup 2026. The four best runners-up (from the Groups) will play in a CAF Play-Off tournament. The winner (CAF Play-Off tournament) will play in the FIFA Play-off Tournament.

Approved Dates: FIFA World Cup 2026 African Qualifiers:

13-21 Nov 2023FIFA WC 2026 – MD 1 & MD 2
3-11 Jun 2024FIFA WC 2026 – MD 3 & MD 4
17-25 Mar 2025FIFA WC 2026 – MD 5 & MD 6
1-9 Sep 2025FIFA WC 2026 – MD 7 & MD 8
6-14 Oct 2025FIFA WC 2026 – MD 9 & MD 10
10-18 Nov 2025CAF play-off tournament
Mar 2026FIFA play-off tournament
*Match Day (MD)

The Executive Committee announced that the Official Draw of the FIFA World Cup 2026 African Qualifiers will be on Wednesday 12 July 2023 in Cotonou, Benin – the night before the 45th CAF Ordinary General Assembly.

Related Articles


  1. At least 9…then maybe 10 after playoff .
    So FIFA have finally expanded our chances of qualifying least statistically speaking.
    Time to say long overdue FIFA, but welcome news nonetheles!!!!!

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img