Sunday, May 19, 2024

FIFA expands U-20 World Cup from 16 to 24 teams 

World soccer governing body FIFA has announced that next year’s Under-20 Women’s World Cup Colombia 2024 will have 24 teams instead of 16 which has always been the case over the past years. 

This development was announced during the FIFA Council Meeting held by Videoconference from Switzerland. 

This means that 8 more slots have been allocated across the globe which will see Africa having four (4) representatives instead of two (2).

Zambia U20 will welcome DR Congo on 7th October, 2023 in the second round first leg set for Nkoloma Stadium at 15h00 Kick-off before the two teams clash on 14th October, 2023 in Kinshasa to determine who qualifies to the third round were they will face the winner between Burundi and South Africa in November. 

The FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup will be hosted by Colombia from 31 August to 22 September, 2024. 

The approved slot allocation will be as follows: host (Colombia) – 1, AFC – 4, CAF – 4, CONCACAF – 4, CONMEBOL – 4, OFC – 2, UEFA – 5. 

Meanwhile, The FIFA Council also confirmed that the 2024 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup, which will be hosted by the Dominican Republic, will take place from 16 October to 3 November, 2024. 

Zambia U17 will face Tanzania next year in the second round Qualifiers for the 2024 Colombia FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup.

Copper Princesses will host Tanzania in the first leg between 2-4 February, 2024 before travelling to Dar Salaam a week later for the second leg with the overall aggregate winner facing either Uganda or Cameroon in the third round in May next year.

By Moses Pedro Mwanza 

Related Articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img