?> Zanaco, Napsa Stars clash in Barclays Cup final | ZamFoot

Zanaco, Napsa Stars clash in Barclays Cup final

Zanaco and Napsa Stars face off on Saturday afternoon at Lusaka’s Heroes Stadium in the final of 11th edition of the Barclays Cup.

Zanaco go into the final having played a game less after their quarter final opponents Power Dynamos withdraw.

In the semi finals the Numba Mumamba coached side beat Lusaka Dynamos 1-0 while their opponents Napsa Stars have played 2 games including a 4-2 post penalties victory over holders Zesco United in the semi finals.

While Napsa Stars lifted the 6th edition in 2012 after defeating Power Dynamos 4-2, the bankers are yet to win the only cup competition in the country.

Zanaco were denied a domestic double last season after they lost 1-0 to Zesco in the final. It was the same story in 2010 as they were beaten 2-0 by the same opposition.

Did Napsa do Zanaco a favour by dumping out Zesco United out?

Having lost two finals, the bankers will be wounded against a stubborn Napsa Stars.

While Green Buffaloes are the most organised team in terms of tactical wise, Napsa Stars have been most attractive side.

In Collins Sikombe, Austin Banda, Youremember Banda and Simon Nkhata, they have some of the most exciting attacking players in the Zambian Super League.

Napsa Stars fans

Despite the rains in Lusaka, the fans are expected to head to Heroes Stadium

Depending on what formation stand in coach Linos Makwaza decide to start with the trio Sikombe and the two Bandas are expected to start behind lone striker Chitiya Mususu.

Mususu will come head to head against Zanaco’s defensive pair George Chilufya and Ziyo Tembo.

Chapa is expected to sit in front of the back four marshalled by Alex Mwamba and Solomon Sakala for Napsa while Richard Kasonde and Boyd Musonda will start as a double pivot. Veteran Isaac Chansa is also an option.

Zanaco coach Numba Mumamba has an array of attacking options at his disposal.

With Augustine Mulenga and Ernest Mbewe starting, Charles Zulu will have to be content with a place on the bench.

Can the league leaders Zanaco win a domestic league and cup double this season?

Upfront the in form Congolese striker Heriter Nkonko will partner Felix Nyainde.

This years final will see winners pocket K350, 000 with the runners up walking away with K180, 000.

Coach of the tournament will receive K15, 000 with the player of the tournament getting K15, 000.

Man of the Match will get K5000.

Zesco United have been the most successful with 5 titles while Power Dynamos has won it twice.

Actually the first five editions were shared between Zesco United and Power Dynamos.

Napsa Stars, Red Arrows and Green Buffaloes have all won it once.

Probable ine up:

Zanaco XI: Toaster Nsabata – Taonga Bwembya, Ziyo Tembo, George Chilufya, Chongo Chirwa – Ernest Mbewe, Richard Kasonde, Boyd Musonda, Augustine Mulenga – Felix Nyainde, Herieter Nkonko

Formation: 4-4-2

Napsa Stars XI: Masosa Bola – Alex Mwamba, Luka Banda, Solomon Sakala, Boyd Mkandawire – Chapa – Mukuma Chitoshi, Collins Sikombe, Youremember Banda, Austin Banda – Chitiya Mususu

Past Barclays Cup winners

2007 Zesco United

2008 Zesco United

Power Dynamos

2010 Zesco United

2011 Power Dynamos

2012 Napsa Stars

2013 Red Arrows

2014 Zesco United

2015 Green Buffaloes

2016 Zesco United


Sharing is caring! Click on the icons below to share with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site! P