Monday, June 24, 2024

2022 AWCON: Copper Queens preparations to start with Zone A Select vs Zone B select match

Preparations for the the 12th edition of the Africa Women Cup of Nations for the Copper Queens are set to kick off this month.

To start the preparations a match between select sides from the two Zones that represent the Women’s National League this season will take place on Saturday, 26th March.

The select sides will mostly include players who are not on the National team radar to give them chance to be seen by the National team coaches.

Zone A includes U-20 defenders Bertha Imponene, and Thelma Phiri, Green Buffaloes’ utility player Memory Nthala, Joana Benaya, Carol Sakuwaha and U-20 Women’s national team starlet Enelesi Phiri of Police Doves

Green Buffaloes Women’s Football Club captain Joana Benaya

Notable names from Zone B include BUSA Queens impressive midfield duo of Maweta Chilenga and Salome Phiri.

Others are Mary Mambwe , Square Maiwase, U-20 goalkeeper Loveness Tonge and Lilian Mwaba of Queens Academy.

The two teams are expected to have a 3-day training camp leading to the match day.

The best performers from the game will make the cut to the National Select Side that will play another friendly against the Copper Queens next month as part of the strategic preparations for the 2022 Morocco Women Africa Cup of Nations (WAFCON) to be played form 2-23 July, 2022.

The top 4 teams will qualify to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup to be co-hosted by Australia and New Zealand.


Ashanti Mwale (Solwezi Academy Queens), Natasha Chanda (Indeni Roses), Milika Banda (National Assembly)

Melody Kipimpi (ZESCO Ndola Girls), Thelma Phiri (Indeni Roses), Bertha Imponene (Nkwazi Queens), Tabo Miselo (National Assembly), Fridah Nalwamba (Police Dove Queens), Memory Nthala (Green Buffaloes), Precious Chilufya (Mufulira Wanderers)

Illess Phiri (ZESCO Ndola Girls), Julliet Kasongo, Esnart Wakumelo (Both Nkana Queens), Sarah Moyo (Indeni Roses), Carol Sakuwaha (Solwezi Academy Queens), Grace Mulaisho (National Assembly), Johana Benaya, Hellen Chanda (Both Green Buffaloes), Regina Kayamboma, Precious Chisanga (Both Mufulira Wanderers), Ritah Mwila Kaoma (Police Dove Queens)

Thandiwe Ndhlovu (ZESCO Ndola Girls), Ngosa Chabwe, Dorothy Daka, Precious Nsama (all Nkwazi Queens), Norin Betani (Indeni Roses), Charity Mubanga (Nkana Queens), Esther Musialela (Solwezi Academy Queens), Enelesi Phiri (Police Dove Queens)


Chipego Chishimba (Chipata Girls), Loveness Tonge (Prison Leopards), Dianess Kasoka (Red Arrows)

Catherine Nkandu (Prison Leopards), Ruth Ndala (Lusaka Dynamos), Marriam Moono, Rhoda Nakanyika (Both YASA Queens) Adnelly Sakala (Chipata Girls), Cecilia Nachula (Queens Academy) Doreen Memory Mwaseba (Red Arrows)

Naomi Phiri (Lusaka Dynamos) Maweta Chilenga, Salome Phiri (Both BUSA Queens), Esther Mbewe (Chipata Girls), Judith Nalishebo (Prison Leopards)

Elizabeth Mwale (ZISD), Tryness Changwe (Green Eagles), Mary Mambwe, Square Maiwase (Both Red Arrows) Lillian Mwaba (Queens Academy), Grace Tembo (Lusaka Dynamos)

Related Articles

Leave a reply

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Stay Connected

- Advertisement -spot_imgspot_imgspot_imgspot_img