?> We have a golden boot finally- A ZamFoot Crew view on the MTN/FAZ awards | ZamFoot

We have a golden boot finally- A ZamFoot Crew view on the MTN/FAZ awards

The Football Association of Zambia on Saturday held their awards ceremony for the 2019 transitional Super League at Radison Blue Hotel. ZNBC’s Franklyn Tembo Jnr and Muvi TV’s Charity Mtonga were the MC’s for the night.

Austin Muwowo was the biggest winner on the night bagging the player of the season, Golden Boot (shared with Zikiru Adams and Laudit Mavugo) and he also made it to the Supersport team of the season.

Away from the winners, The event itself was well organized and the night went on with few or no hiccups.


The sponsors MTN, Supersport and the Football Association of Zambia finally listened to the cries of many soccer fans to give the top goalscorer a ‘golden boot’.

The winner of the award previously used to get a ‘Cup’ as if it was a high school awards ceremony, however, Austin Muwowo, Zikiru Adams and Laudit Mavugo each got a golden boot for their troubles as they emerged as joint-top goalscorers in the transitional league with 10 goals.

This development is commendable and should continue as it helps build the image of the awards and the league itself.


One of the most annoying things at awards ceremonies is the dilution of the event by too much Musical and entertainment content but Saturday’s awards ceremony just had the right amount.

The speakers at the event were also quick, precise and to the point serving time and letting the players, coaches and match officials shine because after all the night was about them and not anyone else.


The winners at the event were close to a true reflection of what happened in the transitional league except for one. How did Aggrey Chiyangi win the coach of the year award? for doing what exactly?

Zesco United boss George Lwandamina won both the league and the ABSA Cup hence he should have been nominated and he was the logical candidate to bag the accolade, Nevertheless congratulations to Aggrey Chiyangi undeserved as it maybe it’s not his problem.


The TV screens at the event showed short videos of the nominees in action while the MC’s read out their names which were a refreshing thing. The annual awards ceremony is slowly getting where it is supposed to be bit by bit.


The awards did not go by without a little controversy as in the run-up to the event there was a lot of secrecy which should not be the case. The first part saw the nominees being withheld from the general public which was a wrong move.

When they were finally leaked, The GS came out to deny the list which did not help matters. In the future, one hopes this does not occur again.

Moving forward the awards committee should strive to improve the event year in year out. Short video interviews of nominees or their (former) teammates could further improve the awards.

The secrecy that was seen this year should be avoided by all costs as it denies fans to have the proper debates on the nominees to help build the hype and buzz for the event.

Despite the few flaws, the award ceremony was well organized and the hope is for an even better one next year.


Footballer of the Year – Austin Muwowo

Assistant Referee of the Year – Diana Chikotesha

The referee of the Year – Audrick Nkole

Young Footballer of the Year – Kings Kangwa

Most Disciplined Player of the Year – Lazarous Kambole

Coach of the Year – Aggrey Chiyangi

Top Scorer of the Year – Laudit Mavugo, Austin Muwowo, and Adam Zikiru Adams

Fans Footballer of the Year – Lazarous Kambole

Team of the year
GK: Scot Ngokene
LB: Mwila Phiri
RB: Paul Banda
CB: Tandi Mwape
CB: Clement Mwape
DMF: Anthony Akumu
CM: Tafadzwa Rusike
LM: Austin Muwowo
RM: Bruce Musakanya
CF: Laudit Mavugo
CF: Lazarus Kambole


Sharing is caring! Click on the icons below to share with family and friends.

2 Comments to We have a golden boot finally- A ZamFoot Crew view on the MTN/FAZ awards

  1. Lukanga Kafusha Justice says:

    Golden Boot with ten goals. In how many games????

  2. Charles says:

    Why award only a striker. Include also best goalkeeper, defender and midfielder awards.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site! P