?> Record six-time Champions Zesco United lead ABSA Cup line-up | ZamFoot

Record six-time Champions Zesco United lead ABSA Cup line-up

The draws for the 2021 ABSA Cup will be conducted on Thursday, March 4 in Lusaka. The Cup Competition makes a return to the annual football calendar after last year’s edition was canceled due to the coronavirus pandemic.

The ZamFoot Crew now looks at the qualified teams and their records in this Competition. The eight teams are Zesco United, Zanaco, Forest Rangers, Lusaka Dynamos, Prison Leopards, Kabwe Warriors, Konkola Blades, and Kansanshi Dynamos.

The Ndola giants Zesco United are the most successful team in this competition winning it a record six times ( combined both as Barclays and ABSA Cup). The eight-time Zambia Super League Champions have never lost a final having made it to six and won them.

Apart from being the record-time winners, Zesco United is also the last team to have won the competition in 2019 after they beat Zanaco 4-1 at Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola in what was Lazarus Kambole’s farewell match.

The Bankers, Zanaco are the second most successful team in this year’s lineup has made it to the final four times though they have only managed to win it once in 2017 when they beat NAPSA Stars 2-1 at the National Heroes Stadium.

National Division One log leaders, Konkola Blades are the only other team to have reached the final back in 2011 when they lost to Power Dynamos 2-1.

Kansanshi Dynamos are looking to make some major upsets and maybe follow in the footsteps of Young Green Buffaloes who reached the final despite being a lower-tier side back in 2018.

Lusaka Dynamos are looking to add a second cup title to their name having won the BP top eight back in 2008.

Kabwe based Prison Leopards have had a fantastic season so far and will be looking to carry their league form to the prestigious cup competition.

Sharing is caring! Click on the icons below to share with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *