Site icon ZamFoot

Patson Daka makes three man shortlist for 2017 African Youth Player of the Year

Chipolopolo striker Patson Daka is set to be to be named the African 2017 Youth Player of the Year after he made it on to the final three man shortlist of the Aiteo CAF Awards 2017.

The Austria based forward will go head to head with  Krepin Diatta of Senegal and Salam Giddou of Mali.

Daka 19 has become a key member of the Zambia national team and was instrumental in helping the U20 national soccer team lift the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations.

He then led the Zambia U20 team to the 2017 U20 World Cup where Zambia reached the quarter finals.

At club level, he guided his team to the UEFA Youth League Championship scoring in both the semi final and final.

At the same ceremony held in Accra Ghana, CAF also unveiled the top three contenders for other categories with Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund) and Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool) making the final shortlist for player of the year.

The awards gala will be held on 3rd January, 2018.

Below are the top three nominees for each catefory (Nominees are listed in alphabetical order);

African Player of the Year

·       Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

·       Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & Dortmund)

·       Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

Women’s Player of the Year

·       Asisat Oshoala (Nigeria & Dalian Quanjian)

·       Chrestina Kgatlana (South Africa & UWC Ladies)

·       Gabrielle Aboudi Onguene(Cameroon & CSKA Moscow)

Youth Player of the Year

·       Krepin Diatta (Senegal & Sarpsborg)

·       Patson Daka (Zambia & Liefering)

·       Salam Giddou (Mali & Guidars)

Coach of the Year

·       Gernot Rohr (Nigeria)

·       Hector Cuper (Egypt)

·       L’Hussein Amoutta (Wydad Athletic Club)

Club of the Year

·       Al Ahly

·       TP Mazembe

·       Wydad Athletic Club

National Team of the Year

·       Cameroon

·       Egypt

·       Nigeria

Women’s National Team of the Year

·       Ghana U-20

·       Nigeria U-20

·       South Africa

Exit mobile version