?> How Mweene and Wada voted as Ronaldo is named FIFA player of the year | ZamFoot

How Mweene and Wada voted as Ronaldo is named FIFA player of the year

FIFA have released the voting list for the 2016/2017 Best FIFA Men’s Player Award at which Christiano Ronaldo edged Lionel Messi and Neymar to win the award.

The World’s best player was voted for by captains of national team’s and national team coaches with Zambia’s vote represented by Kennedy Mweene and Wedson Nyirenda.

How they voted

Chipolopolo skipper Mweene gave his first (higest vote ) of the three votes to eventual winner Christiano Ronaldo.

His second vote went Ngolo Kante of Chelsea while Real Madrid’s Marcelo got his third vote.

Chipolopolo coach Wedson ‘Wada Wada’ Nyirenda also gave his highest vote to the Portuguese attacker Ronaldo, with his second vote going to Messi.

Nyirenda then added Gabonese striker Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang to his list in third position.


Under the media category of votes, Zambia’s Elias Chipepo voted for Real Madrid duo of Ronaldo and Sergio Ramos with Manchester United’s Zlatan Ibrahimovic getting the third vote.

Ronaldo won the award in London on Tuesday— his second straight year being named Best FIFA Men’s Player.


Goalkeeper:  Gianluigi Buffon (Italy, Juventus)

Defenders:  Dani Alves (Brazil, Juventus/Paris Saint-Germain), Leonardo Bonucci (Italy, Juventus/AC Milan), Sergio Ramos (Spain, Real Madrid)

Midfielders:  Luka Modric (Croatia, Real Madrid), Toni Kroos (Germany, Real Madrid), Andres Iniesta (Spain, Barcelona)

Forwards:  Lionel Messi (Argentina, Barcelona), Cristiano Ronaldo (Portugal, Real Madrid), Neymar (Brazil, Barcelona/Paris Saint-Germain)


Sharing is caring! Click on the icons below to share with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked as *