Site icon ZamFoot

Kapumbu misses as CAF makes changes to PTY selecting system

The Confederation of African football (CAF) has made changes to its system of selecting the player of the year to make it more inclusive. For the first time, captains of the senior men’s national teams of the affiliated National Associations will also take part in decision making process of the African Player of the Year and Player of the Year (Based in Africa).

CAF has also released reduced lists for the two top awards and Zambia National team defender Fackson Kapumbu has been omitted after making the initial 30 man list. Kapumbu has been a prominent figure in both the Zambia senior national soccer team and Zesco United’s race in the CAF Confederation cup.

Uganda international Geoffrey Sserunkuma who plays for Zambian club Buildcon FC has also not made the cut, to eliminate all contestants from the ZSL.

Eleven (11) players made the cut for the Player of the Year and Ten (10) for the Player of the Year (Based in Africa) after votes from members of the CAF Technical & Development Committee, CAF Media Experts Panel and Independent Media and TV Consultants, from the initial 30-man list.

The second and final phase will involve Head Coaches or Technical Directors of the National Associations taking part in the voting exercise and ten members from the Independent Media and TV Consultants group.

The Awards Gala will take place on Thursday, 4 January 2018 in Accra, Ghana.

*African Player of the Year (alphabetical order)*

1.     Bertrand Traore (Burkina Faso & Olympique Lyon)

2.     Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

3.     Karim El Ahmadi (Morocco & Feyenoord)

4.     Keita Balde (Senegal & Monaco)

5.     Mohamed Salah (Egypt & Liverpool)

6.     Naby Keita (Guinea & RB Leipzig)

7.     Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon & B. Dortmund)

8.     Sadio Mane (Senegal & Liverpool)

9.     Victor Moses (Nigeria & Chelsea)

10.  Vincent Aboubakar (Cameroon & Porto)

11.  Yacine Brahimi (Algeria & Porto)


*Player of the Year (Based in Africa)*

1.     Achraf Bencharki (Morocco & Wydad Athletic Club)

2.     Ahmed Fathi (Egypt & Al Ahly)

3.     Ali Maaloul (Tunisia & Al Ahly)

4.     Aristide Bance (Burkina Faso & El Masry)

5.     Ben Malango (DR Congo & TP Mazembe)

6.     Denis Onyango (Uganda & Mamelodi Sundowns)

7.     Jeremy Brockie (New Zealand & Supersport)

8.     Junior Ajayi (Nigeria & Al Ahly)

9.       Mohamed Ounnajem (Morooco & Wydad Athletic Club)

10.  Taha Yassine Khenisssi (Tunisia & Esperance)


Exit mobile version