?> CAF CL: Zesco United edge out Sonidep to set up Mazembe clash | ZamFoot

CAF CL: Zesco United edge out Sonidep to set up Mazembe clash

Zesco United 3 (5) -AS Sonidep 1 (1)

The current Zambian title holders in the MTN SUPER-LEAGUE Zesco united have qualified to the first round of the 2018 / 2019 Total CAF Champions League competition after they beat AS Sonidep of Niger 3 – 0 in the second stanza of the preliminary round at the famous Levy Mwanawasa Stadium in Ndola on Tuesday afternoon.

The Ndola based outfit went into this crucial fixture with an upper hand  having won 2-1 during the first leg away in Niger and they picked it up from where they ended in Niamey to win the tie 5 – 1 on aggregate thanks to a Jesse Were brace.

Were the Kenyan international put the host in front with an early goal in the second minute of the first half and this gave the home team an advantage to thrive on. The Ndola based side went into halftime with a two nil lead thanks to Lazarous Kambole who found the back of the net in the 28th minute. This was Kambole’s second goal in as many games in the competition and he again proved to be an integral part of the continental title seeking team.

The visiting side displayed mind games in the second stanza of the game by standing on the line of the goal facing the net but this did not stop Zesco United from scoring another goal which came in the 55th minute through Were.

The 12th player cannot be overlooked in this fixture as the fan’s came out to rally behind and show support to the their team despite it being a working day.

The action continues tomorrow for the other three Zambian representative in the CAF competitions as Green Eagles will be hosted by Young Buffaloes of Eswatini, Green buffaloes FC will be in JUBA and KITWE giants Nkana FC welcome UD SONGO.

Zesco United XI

Jacob Banda -Simon Silwimba, Mwila Phiri, Marcel Kalonda, David Owino – Kondwani Mtonga (Misheck Chaila), Anthony Akumu, Enock Sabamukuma – Jesse Were, John Chingandu, Lazarous Kambole


Rahim Osumanu, Clement Mwape, Solomon Sakala, Winstone Kalengo, Maybin Kalengo, Samson Banda, Misheck Chaila

Sonidep Starting XI

Yahaya Babari – Hamidou Ali, Abdoul Azize, A Traore, Koffi Nicolas, H Sinayoko, S Badamassi, Razak Seyini, Cesar Abaya, Koidjo Sewonou


Sharing is caring! Click on the icons below to share with family and friends.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: